Idea Tourism Magazine

Art & Culture

Lattes Grinzane Award IX edition

The Lattes Grinzane Prize named after Mario Lattes (publisher, painter, writer, who died in 2001) returns with two appointments on 11th and 12th October.

Pubblicato il

Alto contrasto Aumenta dimensione carattere Leggi il testo dell'articolo
Idea Web TV
Info: 011.19771755, 0173.7892412,, eventi@


Haruki Murakami is the winner of the section La Quercia

  • Lectio magistralis and awarding: Friday 11th October, 6 pm, Alba

Roberto Alajmo, Jean Echenoz (Francia), Yewande Omotoso (Sud Africa), Alessandro Perissinotto e Christoph Ransmayr (Austria) are the finalists of the Il Germoglio section

  • Meeting with the public and students: Saturday 12th October, 10 am, Monforte d’Alba
  • Awarding ceremony: Saturday 12th October, 4.30pm, Castle of Grinzane Cavour

Haruki Murakami (Japan), published in Italy by Einaudi (translated by Antonietta Pastore and Giorgio Amitrano), is the winner of the Lattes Grinzane Prize 2019-La Quercia section, dedicated to an international author who has been able to collect over time shared appreciation of criticism and public. Murakami is in Italy on Friday 11th October, to hold a lectio magistralis and to receive the Award (6 pm, Teatro Sociale di Alba. Sold out appointment). The meeting will be introduced and presented by the writer Marcello Fois.

Roberto Alajmo with L’estate del ’78 (Sellerio), Jean Echenoz (Francia) with Inviata speciale (Adelphi, translated by Federica and Lorenza Di Lella), Yewande Omotoso (Sud Africa), La signora della porta accanto (66thand2nd, translated by Natalia Stabilini), Alessandro Perissinotto, Il silenzio della collina (Mondadori) and Christoph Ransmayr (Austria) Cox o Il corso del tempo (Feltrinelli, translated by Margherita Carbonaro) are the finalists the Il Germoglio section,  the international recognition that brings together Italian and foreign authors, dedicated the best fiction books published in the last year.

On Saturday 12th October the five authors will be in Italy to meet the public and students (10 am, Bottari Lattes Foundation in Monforte d’Alba) and to receive recognition during the Award Ceremony, during which the winner will be announced, based on the grades of school jury students (4.30 pm, Castle of Grinzane Cavour). The award ceremony will be conducted by Loredana Lipperini, journalist, writer and radio host. Admission is free while seats last.

“This year’s proposal rewards a variety of narrative experiences that touch on different genres and styles – from France to South Africa, from Austria to Italy – presenting a contrasted and multifaceted relationship between nature and civilization”, comments the Technical Jury of the Prize. “From the local yellow digging in the past (Perissinotto), to the refined historical novel (Ransmayr), from the spy story of black humour (Echenoz), to the family memory (Alajmo), up to the female portraits against the background of the racial question (Omotoso)” , explains the Technical Jury of the Award.

Share the article

Related articles