Idea Tourism Magazine

Art & Culture

Tenth edition of the Lattes Grinzane Award

In competition Italian and foreign authors.

Pubblicato il

Alto contrasto Aumenta dimensione carattere Leggi il testo dell'articolo
Idea Web TV


In the jury: Gian Luigi Beccaria, Valter Boggione, Vittorio Coletti, Giulio Ferroni, Loredana Lipperini, Bruno Luverà, Alessandro Mari, Romano Montroni, Laura Pariani, Lara Ricci and Bruno Ventavoli.

The winner will be chosen by 400 students from all over Italy in October 2020

Call deadline: 31st January 2020

The Lattes Grinzane Award, an international award that puts Italian and foreign authors into competition, cuts the finishing line of the tenth edition. Expiring January 31st 2020, the call for applications can be downloaded from the website

Organized by the Bottari Lattes Foundation and dedicated to Mario Lattes, the Lattes Grinzane Prize is aimed at works of Italian and international fiction published in Italy between January 2019 and January 2020. After the selection of the five finalist novels by the Technical Jura, the choice of winner is entrusted to the judgment of 400 young students of School Juries.

Next to the Prize is the Special Jury Prize, awarded by the Technical Jury to an international author who over time has proved to be deserving of a shared critical and public appreciation.

The Lattes Grinzane Award is mainly supported by the CRC Foundation and the Piedmont Region.

The Juries and the stages of the Award

The books that will come into competition for the Lattes Grinzane Prize will be evaluated by the Technical Jury, which is renewed for 2020, including new names. Its members include: the president Gian Luigi Beccaria (linguist, literary critic and essayist), Valter Boggione (lecturer), Vittorio Coletti (linguist and advisor of the Accademia della Crusca), Giulio Ferroni (literary critic and scholar of Italian literature), Loredana Lipperini (writer, journalist, radio host), Bruno Luverà (journalist), Alessandro Mari (writer and editor), Romano Montroni (president of the Center for books and reading), Laura Pariani (writer), Lara Ricci (cultural journalist) and Bruno Ventavoli (journalist, literary critic). The five finalist works will be chosen on the basis of their literary value and the representativeness of the most lively and original trends in contemporary fiction.

The designation ceremony will announce the five finalist novels and will take place on Saturday 18th April 2020 in Cuneo, at the headquarters of the CRC Foundation.

The word will therefore pass to young people: between April and September 2020 the five books will be read and discussed by the 400 students of the 25 School Juries, one abroad and twenty-four in Italy. On Saturday 10th October 2020, the students will express their wish directly to proclaim the winner during the award ceremony in which all the finalists will be present. The writers in the competition will also hold a meeting with students from the schools of the Cuneo area.

The young people thus continue to be the real protagonists of the Prize, which promotes reading and contemporary literature in schools and offers students the opportunity to develop critical skills and independent judgment.

The five finalists of the Il Budoglio section will receive a cash prize of 2,500 euros each. The winner will receive an additional prize of 2,500 euros.

The Special Jury Prize, which went to Haruki Murakami in 2019, will be chosen as a final jury by the Technical Jury and will be announced in the press within the month of September 2020. On Friday 9th October 2020 the winner will hold a lectio magistralis on a literary theme of his own choice and will be honoured.

The winner of the La Quercia section will get a prize of 10,000 euros.

Share the article

Related articles