The Tanaro Valley

Back to the magazine

All articles

Alto contrasto Aumenta dimensione carattere Leggi il testo dell'articolo

The Tanaro Valley is the natural bridge between Piedmont and the neighbouring Ligurian provinces of Imperia and Savona.

Spread over an area of 40,490 hectares, it includes nine municipalities: Alto, Bagnasco, Briga Alta, Caprauna, Garessio, Nucetto, Ormea, Perlo and Priola.

His is a varied territory in which, from the more gentle and hilly lines of the lower valley, one passes to the fascinating, vertical and decidedly mountainous ones of the upper part dominated by the Ligurian Alps. Crossed by the river that gives it its name, which forms here from the confluence of the Tanarello and the Negrone, obtaining water from the evocative Veins of the Tanaro, it is a land rich in water with many streams and streams.

Tanaro valley – tourist train

The uncontaminated natural environment, together with a past made rich and complex by the passage of many peoples on what has always been a border land, makes it a place of enchantment with many facets, multifaceted and dense with ancient traditions of millennial roots that still resist the flight of time, characterizing it and defining its profile, an original profile, all to be discovered. The main mountains in the area are the Marguareis (the highest in the territory, with its 2,651 metres), the Cima delle Saline, the Mongioie and the Pizzo d’Ormea: from these peaks it is possible, on clear days, to see the sea at ‘horizon. Particular for their dolomitic appearance, they are loved by speleologists due to the impressive underground cave system, many of which are still unexplored.

Hiking can be practiced at many different levels, enjoying views that in some places open up to amazing sea views. At a slow and cadenced pace you cross ancient villages, such as Briga Alta, Viozene and Upega, which tell stories rich in atmosphere, tradition and Alpine culture, as the royal castle in Val Casotto well testifies that, built in the XI century as a Charterhouse, it became a possession of the Savoy in 1837 who immediately made it one of the summer residences of the Turin court.

Share the article