Niella Belbo (La-Niela-an-Belb in Piedmontese) is an Italian town of 371 inhabitants in the province of Cuneo, in Piedmont.
The centre of the village – which stands on the right bank of the Belbo – is located in a panoramic position over the valley and the villages on the opposite side.
The district is covered with woods and full of springs.
In the eighteenth century the Sanctuary of Madonna dei Monti was built, entirely in stone.
Numerous events, including the patronal feast of San Giorgio and the holidaymaker’s holiday in July.
The origin of the name of this country is very unique, because it can be traced back to the “nighella”, an herb that is often found in wheat on those lands.
The name of the village is already mentioned in an act of 1033 and from the medieval era there remains a square-plan tower, remains of the ancient walls and an arched stone.
The latter was renamed the “arch of the French” in memory of the passage of a division of 12 thousand men during the first campaign of Italy undertaken by Napoleon in 1796.